Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship

About the Program

What would you do if you were given $10,000 to go in search of creative inspiration?

In 1999, the Indy Arts Council, with generous support from Lilly Endowment Inc., established the Creative Renewal Arts Fellowship program as an invitation to central Indiana artists and nonprofit arts administrators to nurture their creative exploration and rekindle their spirits. Since then, the Arts Council has awarded $10,000 grants to nearly 500 individuals who have used the funding for travel, research, conferences, workshops, retreats, and other experiences.

Congratulations to the 2022-2023 Creative Renewal Arts Fellows

A record 235 applications were submitted this year–we thank everyone who submitted proposals. A panel of national arts professionals selected these 40 artists and arts administrators to receive grants.

Jerry Lee Atwood, tailor/fiber artist

Josh Betsey, multimedia artist/designer 

Carol Ann Carter, mixed-media artist 

Richard Clark, visual artist/photographer 

Deonna Craig, visual artist/teacher 

LaShawnda Crowe Storm, mixed-media artist 

Jordan Flores Schwartz, producing director, Fonseca Theatre Co.

Shannon Forsell, CEO & artistic director, The Cabaret 

Ellie Garvey, jewelry artist & writer/illustrator 

Sherry Hong, violinist

Willard Johnson, painter 

Oreo Jones, hip hop artist 

April Knauber, visual artist 

Susannah Koerber, Indiana State Museum chief curator & research officer 

Sabra Logan, dancer

Clare Longendyke, classical concert pianist 

Eduardo Luna, founder, Arte Mexicano en Indiana 

Sedalia Marie, vocalist/music educator 

Ronan Marra, Storefront Theatre artistic director

Chantel Massey, writer & poet 

Dani Oglesby, hair artist & designer

Pep-C, dancer/breakdancer/Bgirl 

Teresa Reynolds, singer/songwriter 

Ben Rose, multidisciplinary artist

Greg Rose / Heykidd, painter & curator 

Eric Salazar, musician 

Yemisi Sanni, fashion designer & textile artist 

Chris Saunders, founding artistic director, American Lives Theatre 

Andrew Scott, writer 

Alicia Sims / The Uncut Diamond, multidisciplinary artist

Gregory Smith, senior conservation scientist, Newfields 

Israel Solomon, visual artist/painter 

Gwen Sunkel, comedian, actor & spoken-word artist 

Jared Thompson, jazz musician 

Manon Voice, spoken-word artist, poet & filmmaker 

Sharon Weyser, French horn musician 

Julia Whitehead, CEO & founder, Kurt Vonnegut Library & Museum 

Lori Wolter Hudson, artistic director, The New Harmony Project 

Michele Wood, visual artist

Too Black, poet/essayist 

2022-2023 Creative Renewal Panelists

An impartial panel of five national arts professionals met in Indianapolis to review the applications and make recommendations to the Arts Council’s Board of Directors for final approval. They included:

Alice Escher, associate professor of dance, Tulane University
Kipp Kobayashi, Los Angeles-based visual artist
Quanice Floyd, executive director, National Guild for Community Arts Education in New York City; Co-founder, Arts Administrators of Color Network
Anthony Tognazzini, fiction writer and Oberlin College professor 
Calida Jones, Hartford, Conn.-based violinist, music educator and consultant

Read the 2020-2021 Fellowship Stories

2020-2021 Creative Arts Renewal Fellowship
Discover the renewal journeys of nearly 40 local visual artists, poets, authors, dancers, and musicians.

“This fellowship reminds us to dream big. I wouldn’t have pursued my dream to the end without this uplifting belief in me.” - 2020-2021 Fellow

For more information, please contact the Arts Council grants department at (317) 631-3301 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The Arts Council of Indianapolis is committed to working with the arts and cultural community to cultivate a sector that serves, celebrates, and values every resident of Indianapolis. We envision a city where engagement in the arts is not pre-determined by socio-economic status, race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or disability. We believe in a full creative life for all.

Joomla SEF URLs by Artio

Thank you to our funders

City of Indy logo
Indiana Arts Commission
Clowes Charitable Foundation