DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award

For updates on grants, workshops, and deadlines

2019 Timeline 

  • Application: online application (Apply in 2019)
  • Application Guidelines: Click here (1.2 MB) to download
  • Applications Deadline: 2019 deadlines yet to be determined. The five 2018 awardees are: Anila Quayyum Agha, Kassim Norris, Artur Silva, Stefan Petranek, and Cory Robinson.
  • Award Notifications: 15-days after quarterly deadline (See guidleines for 2018 details)
  • Workshop Dates: Final workshop November 1, 5pm (See guidelines for 2018 details) The workshop will take place at the Arts Council. RSVP to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

General Grant Information

As part of its mission, the Arts Council works with local foundations to support and nurture the careers of professional artists. In 2017, the Christel DeHaan Family Foundation (CDFF) and the Arts Council of Indianapolis (ACI) will create and pilot a new juried artist grant/award program to provide quick turnaround project funding for professional artists in Indiana that promotes, celebrates, recognizes, and rewards excellence. The aim of the program is to recognize contemporary visual artists and support their exceptional projects.  
The DeHaan Artist of Distinction Award Program will honor up to five contemporary visual artists with grants of up to $10,000 each year for aspirational visual arts projects. Each project must demonstrate an immediate need for the requested funds and be completed within the stated deadline. It is intended to allow a high-tolerance for risk and exploration and will provide support for an artist’s creative practice that will help her/him push their work in dynamic ways. Each artist will submit a final report at the end of the process and may be included in a final curated exhibition.  
Applications are reviewed quarterly but are accepted on a rolling basis, and may be submitted at any time. All submissions are due by 5 pm on the quarterly deadline date. Applications received after 5 pm will be included in the next adjudication cycle. The 2018 deadlines for review were February 23, May 30, September 4, and previously, November 30. All five awardees for the 2018 cycle have been identified, therefore funding is closed for 2018. The workshop to take place on November 1 is in preparation for the 2019 cycle.  
Please note that all grant awards are subject to availability of funds for up to five contemporary artists each year.

For more information, please contact Rishard Allen at (317) 631-3301 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..  



Philip Campbell
Shawn Causey
Nhat Tran
Lauren Zoll


Anila Quayyum Agha
Kassim Norris
Artur Silva
Stefan Petranek
Cory Robinson


Thomas Ramey, The Gathering, 2010, Cor-ten steel, 20' x 86'  

The Arts Council of Indianapolis is committed to working with the arts and cultural community to cultivate a sector that serves, celebrates, and values every resident of Indianapolis. We envision a city where engagement in the arts is not pre-determined by socio-economic status, race, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or disability. We believe in a full creative life for all.

Thank you to our funders

Indiana Arts Commission
Clowes Charitable Foundation